So here I was, regardless of a bunch of advice exalting the importance of planning and think before you act, I jumped right into coding. Bad Idea

I expended a big amount of time looking for a way to classify text, my main goal is to build a recommender, so why a classifier algorithm? Well, I didn't think of that at the moment, I just desperately wanted to code something, that blinded me.

I found a perfect dataset for classification: podcast reviews. It was pretty big, so I learned to use SQLite, which became a very useful tool I predict I'm going to use in the future for cleaning and priming data.

Then, I found this tutorial where I understood a little more about TI-IDF Vectorizer, I followed it to add it later to the podcasts reviews data frame

  • pro-tip. You need to change the datatype in the sentiment column to int64 for the classification algorithm to function.

But then, I realized how futile this code was. I'm trying to build a recommender. When the recommendation part takes place?

I decided I'm going to start differently. The most important part is the client, so the most intelligent approach would be to understand (in the easiest way possible) how they are going to interact with the final result. That's my next task.

Even though I'm framing it as a failure, I really think I learned a lot from this experience, yet any of what I coded is going to end up in the final project :).