Have you ever been paralyzed to try something new? Have you ever thought that you or your work are not enough to be shared? It is okay, we’ve all been there, but what if I tell you data could be the answer to fight against that feeling.

Last week, when I was trying to find the perfect theme for starting a blog, I started feeling very anxious, I am not more than an engineering student, what could I share? It is the same feeling I have gotten for around one year. But, a video of Ali Abdaal was recommended to me by a friend. There, Ali explains how writing can be a gate for you to become better at different levels.

Putting yourself out there could potentially bring you the best opportunities you can think of. — Ali Abdaal

In that video Ali, also talks about maximizing serendipity, putting yourself out there could potentially bring you the best opportunities you can think of, this idea is very statistical, right? To some degree, Ali is inviting us to think in a data-driven way. It is all about probability. Chances are, you could get your dream job tomorrow, but you can surely increase them by study a little more today.

This data-driven mentality could be applied to pretty much every decision of your life. Next time you are doubting about taking a risk, think about the probability to win. Even if it is extremely low, If you do not try, it will be even lower.